Free Consultations: 651-778-0575

Learning the truth about Minnesota’s minimum wage laws

There is perhaps no better feeling than getting a phone call from an employer offering you a job. While part of this is because the job will provide you with a stable income and maybe even benefits, another part is that it stands as a sort of validation of all of your hard work leading up to that point.

Before you start your new job, however, it might pay to learn a little bit more about the minimum wage laws here in Minnesota so that you can ensure you are getting everything to which you are entitled going forward and can recognize when your employer may be breaking the law.

What is Minnesota’s current minimum wage?

As we’ve discussed on our blog before, the current minimum wage for those working for large employers, meaning those that do $500,000-plus in business per year, is $8.00. The current minimum wage for workers under 18 not covered by federal law, employees under 20 for their first 90 consecutive days of employment and employees of small employers (i.e., less than $500,000 in business per year) is $6.50.

It’s important to note that these amounts are scheduled to increase in August 2015.

What types of workers are included in the state’s minimum wage laws?

Both full-time workers and part-time workers are included in the minimum wage laws, regardless of whether they are paid by salary, commission or hourly rates. It should be noted that tipped employees are also covered and that employers may not use tip credits against the minimum wage.  

What type of work is covered by the state’s minimum wage laws?

The minimum wage must be paid for every hour worked, which includes not just actual job duties, but also rest periods of less than 20 minutes, training, waiting periods and all other times that any employee is required to be at work.

We will continue this discussion in our next post.

Remember to consider speaking with an experienced legal professional if you have any questions or concerns about whether your rights under the state’s wage and hour laws are being violated by your employer.

Source: Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry, “A guide to Minnesota’s minimum wage laws,” Accessed March 5, 2015

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *